Return to Normal View

DOE Homepage Students Educators Community Family Administrators and Staff

Florida Department of Education

DOE Home

In Case You Missed It


  In Case You Missed It  

Text Index Google Custom Search

In Case You Missed It

@FLGovScott Announces Finalists for Principal and Assistant Principal of the Year Awards

- Winners to be announced in February at Commissioner's Summit for Principals -

Tallahassee, Fla.- Governor Rick Scott today announced via Twitter (@FLGovScott) the Department of Education's finalists for the Principal Achievement Award for Outstanding Leadership and the Outstanding Assistant Principal Achievement Award. These awards recognize outstanding leaders who have increased student performance, promoted safe learning environments and established successful partnerships with parents and community members. Superintendents selected nominees from each district which were then submitted to the department for review by a diverse selection committee comprised of former program winners, representatives from leadership and parent organizations and the current Florida Teacher of the Year. The committee recommended finalists to the Commissioner.

Rick Scott twitter

Governor Rick Scott said, "Florida's principals and assistant principals have been incredible leaders for Florida's outstanding schools - and I'm proud to congratulate each of the finalists. Under the leadership of all of Florida's principals, assistant principals and great teachers, Florida jumped from 11th to 6th for the overall quality of its education system, and just last week we learned that Florida's federal graduation rate rose to a new mark of 75.6 percent. These leaders represent the best in Florida. They have implemented creative and effective programs for student achievement and have delivered incredible results for our students."

"This was a very difficult decision because there are so many incredible leaders in our schools around the state. Great leaders are crucial to the success of our schools and our students," said Commissioner Pam Stewart. "I am honored to recognize these exceptional administrators who nurture positive school environments and ensure their students have every opportunity to succeed in college, career and life."

Principal Achievement Award for Outstanding Leadership finalists are:
  • Eric Lundman, East River High School, Orange County
  • Dr. Barbara Shirley, Alta Vista Elementary School, Sarasota County
  • Brian Kingsley, Gulfstream Middle School, Broward County
Outstanding Assistant Principal Achievement Award finalists are:
  • Brooke Loyed, Patronis Elementary School, Bay County
  • Jo-Anne Misiewicz-Selter, Flamingo Elementary School, Broward County
  • Jeannie Inagawa, Cracker Trail Elementary School, Highlands County

Statewide winners will be announced in February at the annual Commissioner's Summit for Principals and will be awarded a cash prize of $5,000 for the top principal and $2,500 for the top assistant principal.

To learn more about the Department of Education's programs to recognize the contributions of outstanding school administrators, classroom teachers and education support personnel, visit Recognition Awards.

In Case You Missed It Home