Return to Normal View

DOE Homepage Students Educators Community Family Administrators and Staff

Florida Department of Education

DOE Home

In Case You Missed It


  In Case You Missed It  

Text Index Google Custom Search

In Case You Missed It

Governor Scott Announces 14 More School Districts Approve Pay Raises for Teachers

~ 52 Florida school districts have agreed on salary increases~

Tallahassee, Fla.- Governor Rick Scott today thanked Broward, Franklin, Gadsden, Gilchrist, Glades, Hardee, Jefferson, Lafayette, Lake, Levy, Putnam, Santa Rosa, Seminole and Washington school districts for approving teacher raises. In addition, the Palm Beach County School Board is scheduled to vote this week on their pay raise plan. The Governor worked with the Legislature to pledge $480 million during the 2013 legislative session to reward teachers and thank them for their nationally-recognized efforts to raise student achievement.

Governor Scott said, "A majority of Florida school districts have approved a well-deserved pay raise for our outstanding teachers. Working with the Legislature, we were proud to recognize the achievements of Florida students by awarding teachers for their work. We will continue to find ways to support Florida's teachers, who are the backbone of our entire education system."

Education Commissioner Pam Stewart said, "I applaud these school districts for making teachers their priority and honoring Governor Scott's commitment to give them a well-deserved pay raise. The Governor knows that teachers work hard every day to raise academic achievement and deserve to be rewarded for their dedication to help students succeed."

The 14 additional counties join school districts throughout the state that have already approved teacher raise plans.

Those districts include

  • Alachua
  • Baker
  • Bay
  • Calhoun
  • Charlotte
  • Citrus
  • Clay
  • Collier
  • Dixie
  • Duval
  • Escambia
  • Flagler
  • Gulf
  • Hendry
  • Highlands
  • Hillsborough
  • Holmes
  • Jackson
  • Lee
  • Leon
  • Liberty
  • Madison
  • Manatee
  • Miami Dade
  • Okaloosa
  • Osceola
  • Pasco
  • Pinellas
  • Polk
  • St. Johns
  • St. Lucie
  • Sarasota
  • Sumter
  • Suwannee
  • Taylor
  • Union
  • Volusia
  • Wakulla

In Case You Missed It Home